Best free AI note taker
Free plans that are more than a trial, with the limit each one hits first: minutes, meetings, history or storage, and whether you can download what it wrote.

Fathom
Unlimited recordings and transcripts, kept until you delete them, with advanced AI summaries for the first 5 calls a month. Transcripts can be copied but not downloaded, and Fathom trains on de-identified data unless you opt out in settings.
All Fathom facts- Cheapest paid option
- $15/month per seat, billed yearly
- Free plan
- YesUnlimited minutes
- Longest free recording
- Not stated

Granola
Unlimited meetings with no bot. The free plan shows the last 30 days of notes and keeps older ones hidden until you upgrade.
All Granola facts- Cheapest paid option
- $14/month per seat, billed monthly
- Free plan
- YesUnlimited minutes
- Longest free recording
- Not stated

Fireflies.ai
Unlimited meeting transcription with Auto-join on (for accounts from 1 September 2026), up to 2 hours a meeting, and 400 minutes of storage per seat. Transcript downloads need a paid plan. Fireflies says it never trains on your data.
All Fireflies.ai facts- Cheapest paid option
- $10/month per seat, billed yearly
- Free plan
- YesUnlimited minutes
- Longest free recording
- 120 minutes

Otter
300 minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, with TXT transcripts and MP3 audio downloads. Otter trains on de-identified recordings, with no opt-out stated outside Enterprise.
All Otter facts- Cheapest paid option
- $8.33/month per seat, billed yearly
- Free plan
- Yes300 minutes a month
- Longest free recording
- 30 minutes

Circleback
Unlimited meetings, with a bot or bot-free from the desktop app, and 30 days of history. It says it doesn't train on customer data.
All Circleback facts- Cheapest paid option
- $15/month per seat, billed yearly
- Free plan
- YesUnlimited minutes
- Longest free recording
- Not stated
Every app that could fit, checked
31 apps, grouped by how they listen. Picks are outlined.
| App | Cheapest paid option | Free plan | Longest free recording | AI training on recordings | No bot in the call |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A bot joins the call | |||||
| $15/month per seat, billed yearly | Unlimited minutesUnlimited minutes | Not stated | Yes, unless you opt outYes, unless you opt out | Yes | |
| $7/month per seat, billed yearly | Free plan, with limitsFree plan, with limits | Not stated | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| $10/month per seat, billed yearly | Unlimited minutesUnlimited minutes | 120 minutes | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| $15/month per seat, billed yearly | Unlimited minutesUnlimited minutes | 45 minutes | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| $9.99/month per seat, billed yearly | 180 minutes a month180 minutes a month | 120 minutes | Only if you opt inOnly if you opt in | Yes | |
| €7/month, billed yearly | 120 minutes a month120 minutes a month | 3 minutes | Not statedNot stated | Yes | |
| $8.33/month per seat, billed yearly | 300 minutes a month300 minutes a month | 30 minutes | YesYes | Yes | |
| $15/month per seat, billed yearly | Free plan, with limitsFree plan, with limits | 60 minutes | Only if you opt inOnly if you opt in | Yes | |
| €18/month per seat, billed yearly | Unlimited minutesUnlimited minutes | 180 minutes | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| Records on your computer | |||||
| $14/month per seat, billed yearly | Free plan, with limitsFree plan, with limits | 60 minutes | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| $15/month per seat, billed yearly | Unlimited minutesUnlimited minutes | Not stated | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| $14/month per seat, billed monthly | Unlimited minutesUnlimited minutes | Not stated | Yes, unless you opt outYes, unless you opt out | Yes | |
| $8.25/month per seat, billed yearly | 300 minutes a month300 minutes a month | Not stated | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| €21/month per seat, billed yearly | Free plan, with limitsFree plan, with limits | 30 minutes | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| $10/month per seat, billed yearly | Unlimited minutesUnlimited minutes | Not stated | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| €20/month, billed yearly | Free plan, with limitsFree plan, with limits | 240 minutes | Not statedNot stated | Yes | |
| €6.67/month per seat, billed yearly | Free plan, with limitsFree plan, with limits | Not stated | Not statedNot stated | Yes | |
| Upload a file | |||||
| $16/month per seat, billed yearly | 60 minutes a month60 minutes a month | 900 minutes | Only if you opt inOnly if you opt in | No | |
| $8.50/month, billed yearly | Free plan, with limitsFree plan, with limits | 45 minutes | Only if you opt inOnly if you opt in | Yes | |
| $25.49/month per seat, billed yearly | 45 minutes a month45 minutes a month | Not stated | YesYes | No | |
| $8.33/month, billed yearly | Free plan, with limitsFree plan, with limits | 7 minutes | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| $10/month per seat, billed yearly | Free plan, with limitsFree plan, with limits | 30 minutes | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | No | |
| Only on your device | |||||
| €64 once | Free plan, with limitsFree plan, with limits | Not stated | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| $7.08/month per seat, billed yearly | Unlimited minutesUnlimited minutes | Not stated | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| $14 once | Free plan, with limitsFree plan, with limits | No limit | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| A pocket recorder | |||||
| $16.58/month, billed yearly | Unlimited minutesUnlimited minutes | 240 minutes | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | No | |
| $8.17/month per seat, billed yearly | 600 minutes a month600 minutes a month | 300 minutes | Only if you opt inOnly if you opt in | No | |
| $8.33/month per seat, billed yearly | 300 minutes a month300 minutes a month | 300 minutes | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| $8.33/month, billed yearly | 300 minutes a month300 minutes a month | Not stated | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | No | |
| $16.58/month, billed yearly | 300 minutes a month300 minutes a month | 30 minutes | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
| Built into your meeting app | |||||
| $8.33/month per seat, billed yearly | Free plan, with limitsFree plan, with limits | Not stated | Says it doesn't train on themSays it doesn't train on them | Yes | |
Worth knowing. Free plans differ in what runs out: minutes, meetings, history or storage. Check which one your week will hit first, and whether the free plan lets you download a transcript at all.