
Read AI
Read AI, Inc. of Seattle sends a bot to Zoom, Meet and Teams calls, and also records computer audio, phone-app conversations and uploaded files into meeting reports.
- How it listens
- A bot joins the call
- A bot joins the call, Records your computer's audio, Upload a file
- Free plan
- Free plan, with limits
- Cheapest paid
- $15/mo
- Pro, per seat, billed yearly
- Trains AI on your recordings
- Only if you opt in
- Where it transcribes
- In the cloud
- Desktop and mobile capture record locally; data is stored in AWS us-east-1
Where it stands among 43
Each fact with every app's answer. Read AI is outlined.
Trains AI on your recordings
Only if you opt in
Says it doesn't train on them 30
Aiko
Avoma
Bluedot
Circleback
Fellow
Fireflies.aiGoogle Meet Gemini notes
Grain
Hedy
HiDock
Jamie
Krisp
Leexi
MacWhisper
MeetilyMicrosoft Teams recap
Notion AI Meeting Notes
PlaudSlack huddle notes
Sonix
soundcore Work
Superwhisper
TicNote
tl;dv
Transkriptor
Trint
TurboScribe
Webex AI Assistant
Whisper Notes
Zoom AI Companion
Only if you opt in 5
Not stated 3
Notes from a call without a bot
Yes, no bot joins
Yes, no bot joins 32
A bot joins the call 7
Doesn't join live calls 4
Where it transcribes
In the cloud
On your device 3
On device or in the cloud 5
In the cloud 35
Avoma
Bluedot
Circleback
Descript
Fathom
Fellow
Fireflies.aiGoogle Meet Gemini notes
Grain
Granola
HappyScribe
HiDock
Jamie
Leexi
MeetGeekMicrosoft Teams recap
Notion AI Meeting Notes
Notta Memo
Otter
Plaud
Read AI
Rev
SemblySlack huddle notes
Sonix
soundcore Work
Supernormal
Tactiq
TicNote
tl;dv
Transkriptor
Trint
TurboScribe
Webex AI Assistant
Zoom AI Companion
Free plan
Free plan or free with the device
Free plan or free with the device 31
No free plan 11
Not stated 1
Can skip keeping the audio
Yes
Yes 24
Keeps the audio 2
EU data storage
Offered
Offered 19
Not offered 3
Not applicable 5
HIPAA
Says it supports HIPAA
Says it supports HIPAA 25
No 2
Plans and prices
In US dollars, per month, as listed by Read AI. Checked 19 October 2026.
Swipe the table sideways for both billing terms.
| Plan | Made for | Billed yearly | Billed monthly | Minutes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free5 meeting transcripts a month; no upload minutes; basic integrations only | Anyone | $0 | $0 | Not statedLimited to 5 meetings a month, not minutes |
| ProPremium integrations | One personPer seat | $15/mo | $19.75/mo | UnlimitedUnlimited meetings; up to 4 hours each; 100 upload minutes a month |
| EnterpriseAdds audio and video playback | TeamsPer seat | $22.50/mo | $29.75/mo | UnlimitedUnlimited meetings; up to 4 hours each; 200 upload minutes a month |
| Enterprise+Requires 5+ licences; SAML SSO, SCIM, HIPAA | CompaniesPer seat | $29.75/mo | $39.75/mo | UnlimitedUnlimited meetings; up to 8 hours each; 300 upload minutes a month |
- Pay per minute
- $0.04 a minuteExtra upload credits, 200-minute minimum; the help centre also says $20 per 500 minutes
How others are told
What the other people in the meeting see or hear, as Read AI describes it.
- The bot shows in the call
- Automatic chat message
- Email to attendees
Bot appears in the participant list and may post a chat message; some organisations send a pre-meeting email; desktop/mobile capture leaves telling others to the user
All the facts
How it listens
- Ways it captures
- A bot joins the call, Records your computer's audio, Upload a file Bot on Zoom, Teams and Meet; bot-free recording of computer audio in the desktop app; Google Meet native API capture without a bot; mobile apps record in person; MP4/M4A uploads
- No bot in your calls
- Yes Bot on Zoom, Teams and Meet; bot-free recording of computer audio in the desktop app; Google Meet native API capture without a bot; mobile apps record in person; MP4/M4A uploads
- How others are told
- The bot shows in the call, Automatic chat message, Email to attendees Bot appears in the participant list and may post a chat message; some organisations send a pre-meeting email; desktop/mobile capture leaves telling others to the user
- Labels who said what
- YesYes Bot meetings use participant display names; names can be edited; desktop and mobile capture has no speaker attribution
- Languages
- 36+ Cantonese and Mandarin counted separately
- Mixed-language meetings
- Not statedNot stated The run answer says meetings switching languages aren't fully supported; not in the cited excerpt
What happens to your recordings
- Trains AI on your recordings
- Only if you opt in Read states meeting data is opted out by default; users can opt in to its Customer Experience Program
- Where it transcribes
- In the cloud Desktop and mobile capture record locally; data is stored in AWS us-east-1
- Can skip keeping the audio
- YesYes A setting keeps no audio or video beyond producing the report
- How long it's kept
- Free: text reports at least 1 year, recordings deleted after 180 days; paid: kept until you stop paying or delete; audio/video at most 2 years
- EU data storage
- YesYes AWS EU or Canada storage on request through sales, for large group purchases
- SOC 2
- YesYes SOC 2 Type 2
- HIPAA
- YesYes Enterprise+ with a BAA, per the pricing page
What it costs
- Free plan
- Free plan, with limits 5 meeting transcripts a month; no upload minutes; basic integrations only
- Cheapest paid plan
- $15/month per seat, billed yearly
- Pay per minute (AI)
- $0.04 a minute Extra upload credits, 200-minute minimum; the help centre also says $20 per 500 minutes
- Human transcription
- Not stated No human transcription service mentioned
- One-time price
- None Subscriptions billed monthly or annually only
- Device price
- No device
- Free trial
- 7 days, no card New users get an Enterprise trial; then moved to Free
- Refund window
- None No prorated refunds; refunds only when a service issue prevented use
Where it works
- Zoom
- YesYes Native bot support
- Google Meet
- YesYes Native bot support, or Google Meet native recording without a bot
- Microsoft Teams
- YesYes Native bot support; the bot can't join calls started from the Teams Chat tab
- Webex
- YesYes Bot can't join; the desktop app records Webex audio
- In-person meetings
- YesYes iOS, Android and desktop apps record in-person conversations
- Phone calls
- NoNo The mobile app can't record phone calls; the desktop app can record dialer-software calls
- Apps
- Web, Windows, Mac, iPhone, Android, Chrome
What you get out
- Transcript exports
- Not stated
- Subtitles (SRT)
- Not statedNot stated Formats not listed
- Audio download
- Not statedNot stated Video (.mp4) downloads on Enterprise when playback is on; audio-only download not stated
- Integrations
- HubSpot, Salesforce, Notion, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Jira, Confluence, Asana, Zapier, Webhooks, API, MCP
Who makes it
- Company
- Read AI, Inc.
- Owned by
- Independent No parent company named; venture-backed
- Based in
- United States Based in Seattle, Washington
- Founded
- 2021
Others that listen the same way
A bot joins the call: 12 more apps in the field.
Avoma$19/month per seat, billed yearly
Fathom$15/month per seat, billed yearly
Fellow$7/month per seat, billed yearly
Fireflies.ai$10/month per seat, billed yearly
Grain$15/month per seat, billed yearly
Krisp$8/month per seat, billed yearly