
Whisper Notes
Whisper Notes, from SmashMelon LLC, records and transcribes meetings, lectures and voice memos entirely on an iPhone, iPad or Apple Silicon Mac, with no server in the path.
- How it listens
- Only on your device
- Transcribes on your device, Records your computer's audio, Upload a file
- Free plan
- Free plan, with limits
- Cheapest paid
- $14 once
- One-time licence
- Trains AI on your recordings
- Says it doesn't train on them
- Where it transcribes
- On your device
- 'Your voice, transcript, and user data NEVER leave your device'
Where it stands among 43
Each fact with every app's answer. Whisper Notes is outlined.
Trains AI on your recordings
Says it doesn't train on them
Says it doesn't train on them 30
Aiko
Avoma
Bluedot
Circleback
Fellow
Fireflies.aiGoogle Meet Gemini notes
Grain
Hedy
HiDock
Jamie
Krisp
Leexi
MacWhisper
MeetilyMicrosoft Teams recap
Notion AI Meeting Notes
PlaudSlack huddle notes
Sonix
soundcore Work
Superwhisper
TicNote
tl;dv
Transkriptor
Trint
TurboScribe
Webex AI Assistant
Whisper Notes
Zoom AI Companion
Only if you opt in 5
Not stated 3
Notes from a call without a bot
Yes, no bot joins
Yes, no bot joins 32
A bot joins the call 7
Doesn't join live calls 4
Where it transcribes
On your device
On your device 3
On device or in the cloud 5
In the cloud 35
Avoma
Bluedot
Circleback
Descript
Fathom
Fellow
Fireflies.aiGoogle Meet Gemini notes
Grain
Granola
HappyScribe
HiDock
Jamie
Leexi
MeetGeekMicrosoft Teams recap
Notion AI Meeting Notes
Notta Memo
Otter
Plaud
Read AI
Rev
SemblySlack huddle notes
Sonix
soundcore Work
Supernormal
Tactiq
TicNote
tl;dv
Transkriptor
Trint
TurboScribe
Webex AI Assistant
Zoom AI Companion
Free plan
Free plan or free with the device
Free plan or free with the device 31
No free plan 11
Not stated 1
Can skip keeping the audio
Keeps the audio
Yes 24
Keeps the audio 2
EU data storage
Not applicable
Offered 19
Not offered 3
Not applicable 5
HIPAA
Not stated
Says it supports HIPAA 25
No 2
Plans and prices
In US dollars, per month, as listed by Whisper Notes. Checked 19 October 2026.
- Free version
- $0The iPhone and iPad app has no free tier
- Pay once
- $14 onceMac direct-download licence, once (adds meeting detection and Fn dictation); the App Store app is $7.99 once and covers iPhone, iPad and the Mac App Store build
How others are told
Whisper Notes doesn't tell the other people by default, so it's up to you to let them know.
- Nothing by default
No bot appears in the call; the maker tells you to inform participants yourself
All the facts
How it listens
- Ways it captures
- Transcribes on your device, Records your computer's audio, Upload a file Microphone recording, imported audio or video, and Mac meeting recording from system audio plus the microphone, without a bot
- No bot in your calls
- Yes Microphone recording, imported audio or video, and Mac meeting recording from system audio plus the microphone, without a bot
- How others are told
- Nothing by default No bot appears in the call; the maker tells you to inform participants yourself
- Labels who said what
- YesYes On-device speaker identification; rename a speaker once and it updates through the transcript; names aren't learned across recordings
- Languages
- 101+ Whisper covers 101; Parakeet V3 covers 25 European languages, SenseVoice the CJK languages
- Mixed-language meetings
- NoNo The maker says rapid language switching within one recording reduces accuracy and recommends one primary language per file
What happens to your recordings
- Trains AI on your recordings
- Says it doesn't train on them The maker says it has zero access to recordings or transcripts; nothing is uploaded
- Where it transcribes
- On your device 'Your voice, transcript, and user data NEVER leave your device'
- Can skip keeping the audio
- NoNo Meeting recordings are kept in full so they can be re-transcribed; no setting to drop the audio is described
- How long it's kept
- Kept on your device until you delete it Deleted notes stay in a Recycle Bin for 30 days on Mac; deleting the iOS app deletes its recordings
- EU data storage
- Not applicableNot applicable Stored on your own device
- SOC 2
- Not statedNot stated None stated
- HIPAA
- Not statedNot stated No HIPAA statement; the maker says on-device processing doesn't make a workflow compliant by itself
What it costs
- Free plan
- Free plan, with limits The iPhone and iPad app has no free tier
- Cheapest paid plan
- $14 once
- Pay per minute (AI)
- Not offered No usage-based charges: 'No subscriptions, monthly minute limits, cloud transcription fees'
- Human transcription
- Not offered No human transcription
- One-time price
- $14 once Mac direct-download licence, once (adds meeting detection and Fn dictation); the App Store app is $7.99 once and covers iPhone, iPad and the Mac App Store build
- Device price
- No device
- Free trial
- Not stated No timed trial; the Mac free tier of 5,000 words a week stands in for one
- Refund window
- Not stated No window stated: Mac licence keys are refunded on request by email, App Store purchases through Apple
Where it works
- Zoom
- YesYes Mac meeting recording; automatic detection in the direct-download build
- Google Meet
- YesYes Mac meeting recording
- Microsoft Teams
- YesYes Mac meeting recording
- Webex
- YesYes Added to meeting detection
- In-person meetings
- YesYes Records from the device microphone
- Phone calls
- Not statedNot stated Phone-call recording not stated; iPhone recordings resume after a call interrupts them
- Apps
- Mac, iPhone
What you get out
- Transcript exports
- TXT, SRT, VTT, Audio
- Subtitles (SRT)
- YesYes
- Audio download
- YesYes iOS shares text with audio; the Mac CLI can export audio alongside transcripts
- Integrations
- Apple Shortcuts, CLI, MCP CLI and MCP server in the Mac direct-download build
Who makes it
- Company
- SmashMelon LLC Developer named on the App Store listing
- Owned by
- Not stated No parent company stated
- Based in
- Not stated Not stated
- Founded
- Not stated Not stated
Where we recommend it
Others that listen the same way
Only on your device: 3 more apps in the field.
See all 43 note takers