
Grain
Grain records Zoom, Meet, Teams and Webex calls with a bot or captures computer audio without one, and turns them into transcripts and AI notes for sales and product teams.
- How it listens
- A bot joins the call
- A bot joins the call, Records your computer's audio, Upload a file
- Free plan
- Unlimited minutes
- Cheapest paid
- $15/mo
- Starter, per seat, billed yearly
- Trains AI on your recordings
- Says it doesn't train on them
- Where it transcribes
- In the cloud
- Desktop Capture records locally, then transcription runs on cloud providers
Where it stands among 43
Each fact with every app's answer. Grain is outlined.
Trains AI on your recordings
Says it doesn't train on them
Says it doesn't train on them 30
Aiko
Avoma
Bluedot
Circleback
Fellow
Fireflies.aiGoogle Meet Gemini notes
Grain
Hedy
HiDock
Jamie
Krisp
Leexi
MacWhisper
MeetilyMicrosoft Teams recap
Notion AI Meeting Notes
PlaudSlack huddle notes
Sonix
soundcore Work
Superwhisper
TicNote
tl;dv
Transkriptor
Trint
TurboScribe
Webex AI Assistant
Whisper Notes
Zoom AI Companion
Only if you opt in 5
Not stated 3
Notes from a call without a bot
Yes, no bot joins
Yes, no bot joins 32
A bot joins the call 7
Doesn't join live calls 4
Where it transcribes
In the cloud
On your device 3
On device or in the cloud 5
In the cloud 35
Avoma
Bluedot
Circleback
Descript
Fathom
Fellow
Fireflies.aiGoogle Meet Gemini notes
Grain
Granola
HappyScribe
HiDock
Jamie
Leexi
MeetGeekMicrosoft Teams recap
Notion AI Meeting Notes
Notta Memo
Otter
Plaud
Read AI
Rev
SemblySlack huddle notes
Sonix
soundcore Work
Supernormal
Tactiq
TicNote
tl;dv
Transkriptor
Trint
TurboScribe
Webex AI Assistant
Zoom AI Companion
Free plan
Free plan or free with the device
Free plan or free with the device 31
No free plan 11
Not stated 1
Can skip keeping the audio
Yes
Yes 24
Keeps the audio 2
EU data storage
Not stated
Offered 19
Not offered 3
Not applicable 5
HIPAA
Says it supports HIPAA
Says it supports HIPAA 25
No 2
Plans and prices
In US dollars, per month, as listed by Grain. Prices exclude VAT and sales tax. Checked 19 October 2026.
Swipe the table sideways for both billing terms.
| Plan | Made for | Billed yearly | Billed monthly | Minutes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FreeNo uploads, trackers, CRM integrations or API | Anyone | $0 | $0 | UnlimitedNo limit on the number of meetings; personal-email accounts can record 20 meetings with the bot |
| StarterAPI access; viewer seats are free | One personPer seat | $15/mo | $19/mo | UnlimitedUnlimited recording; 10 uploads a month, 2 hours each |
| BusinessAI coaching, trackers, CRM and dialer integrations | TeamsPer seat | $29/mo | $39/mo | Unlimited |
| EnterpriseSSO; HIPAA BAA | CompaniesPer seat | Custom quote | Custom quote | Not statedNot stated |
How others are told
What the other people in the meeting see or hear, as Grain describes it.
- The bot shows in the call
The bot is a named participant; a recording disclaimer modal is shown, or the host gets a permission request; Desktop Capture has no in-meeting notice
All the facts
How it listens
- Ways it captures
- A bot joins the call, Records your computer's audio, Upload a file Bot capture; bot-free Desktop Capture of computer audio; file upload and Zoom Cloud import on paid seats; Aircall call import
- No bot in your calls
- Yes Bot capture; bot-free Desktop Capture of computer audio; file upload and Zoom Cloud import on paid seats; Aircall call import
- How others are told
- The bot shows in the call The bot is a named participant; a recording disclaimer modal is shown, or the host gets a permission request; Desktop Capture has no in-meeting notice
- Labels who said what
- YesYes Voice signatures recognise speakers across meetings, including local captures
- Languages
- 130+ Home page claims over 130; Bot Capture help says 100+; Desktop Capture transcribes 6 languages live, others after the meeting
- Mixed-language meetings
- Not statedNot stated Not stated
What happens to your recordings
- Trains AI on your recordings
- Says it doesn't train on them Grain's claim on its own blog: 'Grain does not use your meeting data to train AI models'. Its privacy policy, terms, security page and trust centre don't address training
- Where it transcribes
- In the cloud Desktop Capture records locally, then transcription runs on cloud providers
- Can skip keeping the audio
- YesYes Desktop Capture saves no media file, only transcript and notes
- How long it's kept
- Kept until deleted; admins can set auto-deletion; deleted meetings can be restored for 30 days
- EU data storage
- Not statedNot stated Hosted on AWS in the USA; no EU option stated
- SOC 2
- YesYes SOC 2 Type II
- HIPAA
- YesYes BAA on Enterprise plans
What it costs
- Free plan
- Unlimited minutes No uploads, trackers, CRM integrations or API
- Cheapest paid plan
- $15/month per seat, billed yearly
- Pay per minute (AI)
- Not offered No pay-per-use price; uploads need a paid seat
- Human transcription
- Not stated No human transcription mentioned
- One-time price
- None No one-time licence listed
- Device price
- No device
- Free trial
- 14 days, no card Business features; sign up with a business-domain email
- Refund window
- 30 days Pricing FAQ offers a 30-day money-back guarantee; the terms say no refunds when you cancel before the term ends
Where it works
- Zoom
- YesYes
- Google Meet
- YesYes
- Microsoft Teams
- YesYes
- Webex
- YesYes
- In-person meetings
- YesYes Desktop Capture works for in-person conversations
- Phone calls
- YesYes Imports Aircall phone calls
- Apps
- Web, Windows, Mac
What you get out
- Transcript exports
- DOCX, PDF, SRT, VTT
- Subtitles (SRT)
- YesYes
- Audio download
- NoNo Recordings download as MP4 video only
- Integrations
- Slack, HubSpot, Salesforce, Aircall, Zapier, Zoom, API, MCP Salesforce on Business and up; Notion and Google Drive through Zapier
Who makes it
- Company
- Not stated Legal entity not stated on the cited pages
- Owned by
- Not stated Not stated
- Based in
- Not stated Not stated; hosting is in AWS in the USA
- Founded
- Not stated Not stated
Others that listen the same way
A bot joins the call: 12 more apps in the field.
Avoma$19/month per seat, billed yearly
Fathom$15/month per seat, billed yearly
Fellow$7/month per seat, billed yearly
Fireflies.ai$10/month per seat, billed yearly
Krisp$8/month per seat, billed yearly
Leexi€12/month per seat, billed yearly