
Otter
Otter.ai, Inc. of Mountain View, California, makes a meeting note taker whose Notetaker joins Zoom, Meet and Teams calls, with a desktop app that records without a bot and mobile apps for in-person talks.
- How it listens
- A bot joins the call
- A bot joins the call, Records your computer's audio, Browser extension, Upload a file
- Free plan
- 300 minutes a month
- Cheapest paid
- $8.33/mo
- Pro, per seat, billed yearly
- Trains AI on your recordings
- Yes
- Where it transcribes
- In the cloud
- Processed on Otter's servers; stored on AWS in the US
Where it stands among 43
Each fact with every app's answer. Otter is outlined.
Trains AI on your recordings
Yes
Says it doesn't train on them 30
Aiko
Avoma
Bluedot
Circleback
Fellow
Fireflies.aiGoogle Meet Gemini notes
Grain
Hedy
HiDock
Jamie
Krisp
Leexi
MacWhisper
MeetilyMicrosoft Teams recap
Notion AI Meeting Notes
PlaudSlack huddle notes
Sonix
soundcore Work
Superwhisper
TicNote
tl;dv
Transkriptor
Trint
TurboScribe
Webex AI Assistant
Whisper Notes
Zoom AI Companion
Only if you opt in 5
Not stated 3
Notes from a call without a bot
Yes, no bot joins
Yes, no bot joins 32
A bot joins the call 7
Doesn't join live calls 4
Where it transcribes
In the cloud
On your device 3
On device or in the cloud 5
In the cloud 35
Avoma
Bluedot
Circleback
Descript
Fathom
Fellow
Fireflies.aiGoogle Meet Gemini notes
Grain
Granola
HappyScribe
HiDock
Jamie
Leexi
MeetGeekMicrosoft Teams recap
Notion AI Meeting Notes
Notta Memo
Otter
Plaud
Read AI
Rev
SemblySlack huddle notes
Sonix
soundcore Work
Supernormal
Tactiq
TicNote
tl;dv
Transkriptor
Trint
TurboScribe
Webex AI Assistant
Zoom AI Companion
Free plan
Free plan or free with the device
Free plan or free with the device 31
No free plan 11
Not stated 1
Can skip keeping the audio
Yes
Yes 24
Keeps the audio 2
EU data storage
Not stated
Offered 19
Not offered 3
Not applicable 5
HIPAA
Says it supports HIPAA
Says it supports HIPAA 25
No 2
Plans and prices
In US dollars, per month, as listed by Otter. Prices exclude VAT and sales tax. Checked 19 October 2026.
Swipe the table sideways for both billing terms.
| Plan | Made for | Billed yearly | Billed monthly | Minutes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free3 lifetime file imports; 20 AI Chat queries a month | Anyone | $0 | $0 | 300 min a month |
| ProFor individuals and small teams | One personPer seat | $8.33/moLive pricing page, Annual tab, 2026-10-19 ('save 51%') | $16.99/mo | 1,200 min a monthUp to 90 minutes per meeting; 10 file imports a month |
| BusinessFor medium-sized teams | TeamsPer seat | $19.99/moLive pricing page, Annual tab, 2026-10-19 ('save 33%') | $30/moShown at $24 for the first 3 months (20% off, first-time subscribers only), then $30 | UnlimitedUnlimited meetings and in-app recordings; 6,000 imported-file minutes per user; up to 4 hours per meeting |
| EnterpriseSSO, SCIM, HIPAA add-on, API | CompaniesPer seat | Custom quoteSchedule a demo | Custom quoteSchedule a demo | UnlimitedSame limits as Business |
How others are told
What the other people in the meeting see or hear, as Otter describes it.
- The bot shows in the call
- Automatic chat message
- Email to attendees
Notetaker shows as a named participant and posts a chat message; optional pre-recording email to guests. Desktop recording sends no notice
All the facts
How it listens
- Ways it captures
- A bot joins the call, Records your computer's audio, Browser extension, Upload a file Notetaker joins as a participant; the desktop app records without a bot; Chrome extension; file import. Mobile and computer microphone recording too
- No bot in your calls
- Yes Notetaker joins as a participant; the desktop app records without a bot; Chrome extension; file import. Mobile and computer microphone recording too
- How others are told
- The bot shows in the call, Automatic chat message, Email to attendees Notetaker shows as a named participant and posts a chat message; optional pre-recording email to guests. Desktop recording sends no notice
- Labels who said what
- YesYes Learns a speaker once tagged; live names from Zoom participants
- Languages
- 6 English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese, Chinese (Mandarin)
- Mixed-language meetings
- YesYes French and English together only; no other mix
What happens to your recordings
- Trains AI on your recordings
- Yes Otter says it trains its own models on de-identified recordings and transcripts; Enterprise workspaces are opted out by default. No opt-out stated for other plans
- Where it transcribes
- In the cloud Processed on Otter's servers; stored on AWS in the US
- Can skip keeping the audio
- YesYes Enterprise admins can remove audio and keep only transcripts
- How long it's kept
- Kept until deleted; deleted conversations are purged after 30 days in Trash. Custom retention on request for workspaces
- EU data storage
- Not statedNot stated Data stored on AWS in US West; no EU option stated
- SOC 2
- YesYes SOC 2 Type 2 report
- HIPAA
- YesYes Enterprise plan only, with a BAA
What it costs
- Free plan
- 300 minutes a month 3 lifetime file imports; 20 AI Chat queries a month
- Cheapest paid plan
- $8.33/month per seat, billed yearly
- Pay per minute (AI)
- Not stated No per-minute price listed; subscription plans only
- Human transcription
- Not stated No human transcription listed
- One-time price
- None No one-time licence listed
- Device price
- No device Software only; no device sold
- Free trial
- 7 days, card needed Business plan trial
- Refund window
- None Otter says subscriptions are non-refundable
Where it works
- Zoom
- YesYes
- Google Meet
- YesYes
- Microsoft Teams
- YesYes
- Webex
- Not statedNot stated Webex isn't named on Otter's pages
- In-person meetings
- YesYes Mobile apps and the desktop app record in-person conversations
- Phone calls
- YesYes Through the RingCentral and Zoom Phone integrations
- Apps
- Web, Windows, Mac, iPhone, Android, Chrome
What you get out
- Transcript exports
- TXT, DOCX, PDF, SRT, Audio
- Subtitles (SRT)
- YesYes Paid plans
- Audio download
- YesYes MP3, on every plan
- Integrations
- Slack, Notion, Salesforce, HubSpot, Google Docs, Zapier, Jira, Asana, Dropbox, API (Enterprise)
Who makes it
- Company
- Otter.ai, Inc. Registered in Delaware, address in Mountain View, CA
- Owned by
- Not stated No parent company named
- Based in
- United States
- Founded
- Not stated Founding year not stated on Otter's pages
Where we recommend it
Otter side by side
Others that listen the same way
A bot joins the call: 12 more apps in the field.
Avoma$19/month per seat, billed yearly
Fathom$15/month per seat, billed yearly
Fellow$7/month per seat, billed yearly
Fireflies.ai$10/month per seat, billed yearly
Grain$15/month per seat, billed yearly
Krisp$8/month per seat, billed yearly