Skip to content
Microsoft Teams recap logo

Microsoft Teams recap

Built into your meeting appComes with the meeting appUnited States

Microsoft Teams transcribes Teams meetings and calls in the cloud, and with a Teams Premium or Microsoft 365 Copilot licence adds AI-written intelligent recap notes.

How it listens
Built into your meeting app
Built into the meeting app
Free plan
No free plan
Cheapest paid
$4/mo
Teams Essentials, per seat, billed yearly
Trains AI on your recordings
Says it doesn't train on them
Where it transcribes
In the cloud
Transcripts and recordings are stored in OneDrive, SharePoint and Exchange

Where it stands among 43

Each fact with every app's answer. Microsoft Teams recap is outlined.

Plans and prices

In US dollars, per month, as listed by Microsoft Teams recap. Prices exclude VAT and sales tax. Checked 19 October 2026.

Swipe the table sideways for both billing terms.

Microsoft Teams recap plans and prices
PlanMade forBilled yearlyBilled monthlyMinutes
Teams EssentialsTranscripts only; intelligent recap needs an add-onCompaniesPer seat$4/moRecordings with transcripts and live captions (English); no AI recapNot statedMonthly billing exists; its price isn't in the excerptNot statedNo transcription allowance stated
Teams Premium (add-on)Add-on; needs a Teams licence on topCompaniesPer seat$10/moAnnual subscription, auto-renews; a 'Pay monthly' option exists but its price isn't shownNot statedNot shownNot statedNo allowance stated
Microsoft 365 Copilot Business (add-on)Add-on for existing Microsoft 365 Business customers; adds recap without saving transcriptsCompaniesPer seat$18/moPromotional first-year price (July 1 to December 31, 2026); renews at $21Not statedA 'Pay monthly' option exists; its price isn't shownNot statedNo allowance stated
Microsoft 365 Copilot (enterprise add-on)Add-on; needs a Microsoft 365 licence on topCompaniesPer seat$30/moAnnual subscription, auto-renews; a 'Pay monthly' option exists but its price isn't shownNot statedA 'Pay monthly' option exists; its price isn't shownNot statedNo allowance stated

How others are told

What the other people in the meeting see or hear, as Microsoft Teams recap describes it.

  • On-screen notice

On-screen banner to all participants when recording or transcription starts; explicit consent is an optional policy, off by default

All the facts

How it listens

Ways it captures
Built into the meeting app Live transcription started inside a Teams meeting; Teams Rooms with Intelligent Speakers cover meeting rooms
No bot in your calls
Yes Live transcription started inside a Teams meeting; Teams Rooms with Intelligent Speakers cover meeting rooms
How others are told
On-screen notice On-screen banner to all participants when recording or transcription starts; explicit consent is an optional policy, off by default
Labels who said what
YesYes Transcripts attribute speakers; Teams Rooms Intelligent Speakers name enrolled voices
Languages
Not stated 9 languages for multilingual speech recognition; the full transcription language count isn't in the excerpts
Mixed-language meetings
YesYes Multilingual speech recognition lets participants speak different languages in one meeting

What happens to your recordings

Trains AI on your recordings
Says it doesn't train on them Microsoft's claim: customer data isn't logged or used for AI model training or testing
Where it transcribes
In the cloud Transcripts and recordings are stored in OneDrive, SharePoint and Exchange
Can skip keeping the audio
YesYes With a Copilot licence, a recap can be made without saving a recording or transcript
How long it's kept
Recordings and transcripts expire after 120 days by default; admins set 1 to 99,999 days or never
EU data storage
YesYes Data stays in the tenant's geography, including the EU
SOC 2
YesYes Office 365 SOC 2 Type 2 covers Teams
HIPAA
YesYes BAA available for in-scope services, including Teams; plan requirement not stated

What it costs

Free plan
No free plan Teams Free (group meetings up to 60 minutes) doesn't list transcription
Cheapest paid plan
$4/month per seat, billed yearly
Pay per minute (AI)
Not offered No file upload pricing
Human transcription
Not offered No human transcription
One-time price
None Annual subscriptions only
Device price
No device Software; no device
Free trial
30 days Teams Premium admin trial: 25 licences for 30 days (a self-service trial lasts 60 days); Copilot Business: one month
Refund window
7 days Prorated refund if cancelled within 7 days of start or renewal (MCA billing accounts, and the Copilot Business promotion)

Where it works

Zoom
NoNo A Teams feature for Teams calls, meetings and events
Google Meet
NoNo A Teams feature for Teams calls, meetings and events
Microsoft Teams
YesYes
Webex
NoNo A Teams feature for Teams calls, meetings and events
In-person meetings
YesYes Only in Teams Rooms with Intelligent Speakers
Phone calls
YesYes Intelligent recap covers VoIP and PSTN calls with the right licence
Apps
Web, Windows, Mac, iPhone, Android

What you get out

Transcript exports
DOCX, VTT
Subtitles (SRT)
Not statedNot stated Not stated
Audio download
Not statedNot stated Recordings are MP4 video; audio-only export not stated
Integrations
Microsoft Graph API Transcripts, recordings and AI notes through Graph; no Notion, Slack or CRM destinations stated

Who makes it

Company
Microsoft Corporation
Owned by
Independent
Based in
United States Redmond, Washington
Founded
1975

Where we recommend it

Others that listen the same way

Built into your meeting app: 5 more apps in the field.

See all 43 note takers